Pre-NaNoWriMo Worksheet

If you Google NaNoWriMo, you’re bound to get 500+ blog posts and websites gearing you up for November 1st. But let’s be real, everyone’s advice starts to sound the same after the third or fourth post you read. It can feel overwhelming. But don’t give up before you even start! Below I’ve put together a list of questions to answer going into this year’s NaNoWriMo. This is NOT to help you plan out your writing. This is to help you determine your goals and what YOU want to accomplish in the month of November.

NaNoWriMo Goal Worksheet

  1. What do I hope to accomplish during NaNoWriMo? How do I want to feel about myself and the work I have finished by the end of the month? What have I failed to accomplish in previous writing events like this?
  2. Roughly outline your goals that you’d like to achieve (you’ll finalize them in a few questions).
  3. What are three specific things I can do to achieve those goals? (Ex: I will set aside 1 hour of uninterrupted writing time every night.) What are three specific things I can avoid in November to achieve those goals? (Ex: I will not watch 2 hours of television every night.)
  4. What is my writing personality? Do I write quickly or slowly? Do I pre-plan or wing it?
  5. How can I make my goals more specific based on what I KNOW about my personal writing style? How can I make them more realistic? Rewrite your goals to be specific, including what date you want to accomplish it by and the steps you will take each day to get there.
  6. Who can I contact when I need a pick me up? Can I find an accountability partner to make sure I meet my goals and I’ll do the same for them?
  7. How can I plan out other areas of my life so I can optimize my writing time? (Ex: pre-packing lunches, easy dinners, ask my significant other/roommate to watch Law & Order in another room so I’m not tempted)

I hope this simple guide helps give you a better approach going into NaNoWriMo than just running at it full force. Sometimes we get so excited, we miss the “slippery when wet” sign, and our eagerness spirals us out of control. Don’t let that happen to you!

Did this worksheet help you? Comment below your thoughts and answers.

[Follow me on Twitter at @tclem91.]

Leave a Reply

