Guest Post: Welcome to Deadland by Zachary Tyler Linville

Taylor: So remember that post a few weeks ago about using Kickstarter to crowdfund your work? Well, it just so happens that there are tons of other sites you can do this on as well, one being Nerdist. I met Zac through a mutual friend and I found out he was involved in a contest with Nerdist to get his book published. Cool, right? So without further ado, I give you Welcome to Deadland and how YOU can help it get published. (Side note, you can read more about the book by going to the link in the post below.)

Welcome to Deadland

First, I would like to take the opportunity to thank Taylor for allowing me to write a guest post.

To give you all a little background on myself, I graduated with a Bachelor’s in Film from UCF before moving to New York City to work on various movies and television shows. My dream has always been to write, both for the big screen and novels. After spending 60-80 hours a week on set working to make the stories and visions of others come to life I finally stopped and reevaluated what I was doing, deciding I needed to prioritize myself and my dreams.

I was granted the opportunity denied many of being able to focus exclusively on my writing while my fiancé was willing to support the two of us until it was finished, but as many of you know finishing a novel is just the first step. Next comes trying to secure an agent, a publishing deal, etc. Recently a good friend of mine pointed me in the direction of a publishing contest through Nerdist, founded by Chris Hardwick of The Talking Dead, and InkShares, a crowdfunding site much like Kickstarter but for books.

I’ve entered my debut novel, Welcome To Deadland, into the contest and can excitedly say that though the first week it has gained and held the #1 position in pre-orders. I could not be prouder of the work I poured into Welcome To Deadland, and to see the growing number of pre-orders is reaffirming that I’ve chosen the correct path for me. Maintaining the top spot has been no easy feat, and is often nerve wracking, and that’s where I ask for help. Writing the book was entirely in my control, but reaching publication is in the hands of those around me. Nerdist is publishing the books with the highest number of pre-orders as well as choosing one book specifically to pursue a movie or television deal with, so the world gets to decide who deserves this chance. While I’ve experienced great momentum thus far, the road to publication is a marathon and not a sprint, and I ask for all of the support I can get. Here’s how you can help:

By visiting https://www.inkshares.com/projects/welcome-to-deadland you can learn more about the book as well as read select excerpts. If you choose to support the book and help it move toward publication there is a pre-order option for $9.99. There is NO immediate charge for placing a pre-order, and you will only be charged IF the book wins the contest, at which point a printed copy of the book will be mailed to you at no additional shipping expense. Even if you do not live within the United States, international shipping costs will not be charged.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and thank you again, Taylor for posting this on my behalf.

Leave a Reply

