Thursday = time to give yourself some credit.

Yesterday I left you with a strong challenge: to decide if writing is going to be your hobby or your career.

There’s nothing wrong with choosing hobby, but if that’s the case, you’re going to fall into the trap of excuses. Hobbies tend to fall pretty low on the priority list when life gets in the way, and if writing is just a hobby, it’s going to suffer.

I don’t say all of this to sound harsh, I just think we all need some tough love now and again to get to where we need and want to be.

Now, on the other hand, if writing is your career, what steps are you taking to prove it? Are you setting aside time to write? Are you reading books and blogs on how to detail a plot outline, build an audience, create a character?

And when you do those things that make you a better writer, are you acknowledging them?

I’m a big proponent of rewarding yourself for your hard work. It shows you’re taking yourself seriously, and that you realize what you’re doing is difficult. Anyone who thinks writing is easy has never written before, so give yourself some credit. What you are doing is hard. It’s strenuous, it’s time-consuming, it’s frustrating, and sometimes, it’s so abstract that you just want to give up.

Set goals for yourself and a reward for reaching them. You finished your manuscript? Buy that book you’ve been dying to get. Reached 500 followers on your blog? Go book that massage. (That’s actually a really good one. People, please follow me so I can get a massage!)

And most importantly, when people ask what you do, tell them you’re a writer. It doesn’t matter if you’re published or if you have an agent or if you’ve written one short story. If you’ve bled your thoughts and feelings and ideas onto a page, you are a writer. Don’t let anyone tell you different.

[You can follow me on Twitter @tclem91. Subscribe to my blog to get updates when I post new content. Help me get to 500 follows so I can get all the knots worked out of my shoulders!]

2 thoughts on “Thursday = time to give yourself some credit.

    1. I actually deleted my old one to revamp it, and now I can’t get the tab to show up next to the home page tab. So if you know how to do that let me know because I couldn’t figure it out haha.

Leave a Reply

