Tuesday = time for the hard truth.

I rarely read Snapchat articles, but when I do, it’s because my husband told me to. This morning he directed me toward an article on Cosmo (yes, my hubs even glances over the Cosmo articles to see if there’s anything good) about the author of Luckiest Girl Alive. You know, that book that REESE WITHERSPOON is producing. Sorry, I’m fan-girling over here.

Okay, back to Cosmo. Apparently they have a whole section on their website geared toward interviewing successful women who have “made it” in their fields. Also, for anyone who read my post yesterday, these type of articles are my favorite in giving me that push.

You can find the one I read this morning here: http://www.cosmopolitan.com/career/news/a43171/get-that-life-jessica-knoll-luckiest-girl-alive/ and I definitely recommend you do, female or not. If there is anyone who has really worked for her career, it’s this woman.

I think we writers get into the habit of thinking that we deserve to be published and that it’s our right for people to read our novels. But the truth is, we don’t and it’s not. Sure we’ve spent a countless number of hours working on our masterpiece, and yes we’ve poured our blood, sweat, and tears into our manuscript, but that doesn’t mean we are entitled to publication. If that were the case, there would be no publishing houses and everyone would go indie. We wouldn’t have another option.

And while indie may be right for you, it’s not for me. And that’s totally okay. But reading how Jessica Knoll, the author of Luckiest Girl Alive, spent years working toward building her resume and making connections and one day, finally, publishing a book, reminds me that writing a book and having a blog is not enough. Maybe it is for one in a million, but I’m not one for gambling or playing with those odds (I mean, I went to Vegas on my honeymoon and spent $5 on the slots). If I need to work a bit harder to make my chances of publication greater, you better believe I’m going to do it.

I think Jessica got right what a lot of us are still learning. Instead of trying to summarize her excellent words with my own, I’ll simply leave you with the last two lines of the article.

“It’s not enough to just follow your dreams. There’s a lot you have to do to make them happen.”

Leave a Reply

