Monday = time to be honest.

Sometimes I have a very hard time explaining myself. This is going to be one of those times, so bear with me. (And feel free to leave a comment if you do understand so I don’t feel like I’m talking to a void…please and thanks!)

I have a severe disconnect between wanting to write, having the desire and passion to write, even feeling motivated to write, and figuring out how to write. Has that ever happened to you?

You may feel incredibly empowered with fantastic ideas, or maybe they’re a little more elusive, but you’re sure that if you think about them incredibly hard, one will become solid enough to grasp.

I like to think of my ideas like the Northern Lights in a very non-literal sense. They’re beautiful, changing, and kind of unreal. Like even though you are looking right at them, you question whether they exist.

Sometimes it doesn’t matter if I have a completely perfect draft laid out for me for my next book or TV script. When I sit down to write it, my brain suddenly becomes jumbled. Like what I have been planning no longer makes sense or I don’t know how to properly execute it.

Again, this might just be me, but I’m feeling particularly transparent this morning. So to make myself feel better I googled “successful writing blogs” to see what other writers have done. Every now and then you just need assurance that if someone else can do it, you can, too. In my search I discovered some tips for writing that don’t necessarily help you solidify those potential ideas, but they do help you work through them.

Plus, quotes from other successful writers who know the struggle are always welcome.

So if you’re feeling a little lonely in your writing and aren’t really sure how to make known to others the pretty ideas floating about in your head, I hope these tips help.

Read ’em and weep, my friends.

https://blog.bufferapp.com/6-of-the-most-important-aspects-of-successful-writing

2 thoughts on “Monday = time to be honest.

Leave a Reply

