Raising a puppy is like trying to write a new story.

As I type this, my pup, Macklin, is currently curled up against the laundry room door in possibly the cutest way ever. I don’t know how it’s comfortable, but for the moment he is not biting me, so I’m content.

If you have ever had a puppy, you totally get why it’s like trying to write a new story. To make it simple to understand for all you weird cat lovers out there, here are some reasons why:

1) Puppies like to bite (and chew and gnaw) and if you’ve ever written a story that DIDN’T give you some trouble, you are the .001%. I love my puppy and I love writing, but I have yet to play with my dog or write a story without getting a few wounds in the process. Your writing may just be troublesome and you’re stuck with several revisions, or maybe it strikes something a little deeper within you. Either way, good luck coming out unscathed.

2) Puppies like to pee on things and there are some serious times when my writing smells like someone peed on it. I’m not always proud of the words I put together. Sometimes I can’t seem to get my point across or my writing is just bland. And so help me if this pup pees on my carpet one more time…he is NOT getting a treat.

3) Speaking of peeing on things, puppies need a lot of attention and so does your writing. It’s not enough to just pet them here and there. You have to feed them, take them out (so they don’t pee on things), and sit on the floor with them when they feel lonely. If you’ve gone through that first revision, or second revision, or third or fourth, you know what I mean. Your writing is more than just sitting down, spitting out some words, and calling it a story. If it were that easy, everyone would do it. Fortunately for us, not many are as crazy as we are.

4) Puppies shed, and if you’re excited about you’re writing, you should, too. Not shed, I mean. But share your story. Talk about it. If you’re passionate about what you’re doing, you tell people. If you aren’t willing to tell people what you’re righting about, there’s a chance that it’s either not good, or you don’t believe in it (or yourself), or both. So if that’s the case, stop right now and check yourself before you’re in too deep and you don’t know how to fix it.

5) Puppies cost money. Writing also costs money. You have to enter contests and buy books on writing and buy books to read and enter more contests and hire editors and maybe go for the premium wordpress site that isn’t free. That’s about it on that one. I wish it weren’t so.

I love my puppy. I don’t remember what I did with all my spare time before my puppy (I was probably a lot more productive, let’s be honest). But my puppy has taught me a lot about writing in the month I’ve had him. He’s taught me the things worth having and doing may require hard work. And sometimes you have to reach into the mouth of what you want and pull out the rock it’s decided to choke on.

Oh, wait, is that one just puppies? I’m sure it can apply to writing somehow…

And of course, since you obviously want to meet my puppy now, here he is whipping his hair back and forth.
2015-06-30 16.24.47

Leave a Reply

