Writing for wherever and however you are.

Well that little blog facelift was long overdue. I’ve been wondering the past couple weeks what I should write about or how I should jumpstart my blog again. Naturally, all that thinking led to me needing to take long breaks watching my various TV shows (currently Orphan Black and The Flash) which obviously prevented me from writing anything. I was still really trying to figure out what to do with this blog and where to take it when I stumbled upon my little tagline: “writing for wherever and however you are.”

Yea, I think I needed that.

I’ve been in a lot of different places this past year. I’ve been completely elated and completely crushed. I’ve felt hope and confusion and curiosity and frustration. But I tend to only write when I’m feeling on the more positive side of things. Otherwise I get angry too quickly and quit.

But that’s not what writing is.

Writing isn’t just for the good times when the words flow like water and they’re beautiful and inspiring and heart-wrenching. Writing is for the bad times, the angry times, the I-want-to-throw-my-computer-at-a-wall times, too. It’s for all the times. Wherever the times. However the times. It’s for the me I was ten years ago, one year ago, yesterday, now, and tomorrow.

The truth is, I just really like to write. I may struggle with it more often than I succeed effortlessly at it, but I will never stop writing.

If I lose the light of the sun, I will write by candlelight, moonlight, no light. If I lose paper and ink, I will write in blood on forgotten walls. I will write always. I will capture nights all over the world and bring them to you.
-Henry Rollins

Leave a Reply

