I just started my own business.

I already work full-time, but in a few months I’ll be moving, and the idea that I might be *gulp* jobless for a while makes me cringe. So I decided to join Jamberry Nails.

Don’t worry, there’s a writing point to this, it’s not a shameless plug (completely).

Anyway, I’ve been doing some training on how to be a consultant, making my nails look fabulous, and figuring out how I’m going to make this all work. Part of me is afraid I’m doing this to avoid writing, because I’m in a “slump” right now. I know deep down that’s not why I’m really doing this, but the fear is still there.

In this stage of life right now, I’m pre-marriage (5 months out), working 40+ hours a week, and trying to balance exercise/eating healthy/doing things I enjoy. On top of all that I’m trying to write a novel.

Actually, now that I’m writing it all down, I’m not 100% sure what I was thinking.

But I’m going to make it work, because as a writer/artist, that is our nature. If one way isn’t going too hot with our WIP, we try another way. We rarely throw in the towel completely. Personally, I hate scrapping my work. I’ll rarely never pick something back up. Even if all I use from an old WIP is a character, then all that time and energy I spent before doesn’t feel like such a waste. It really never is regardless, but getting your mind and heart to line up on that is next to impossible.

Making it work means that instead of giving up all the way, you may only give up a little bit. Instead of throwing away all the trash, you may find a few bottles and boxes to recycle. You can really be surprised what little golden nuggets you uncover when you don’t scrap something completely.

It’s almost become a motto of mine, this “make it work” idea. DIY your own work. Take those pieces you’re embarrassed of and shake them off, polish them clean, see what you can make of it. You may be surprised at what you find.

[if you are interested in what Jamberry nails are, check out the about me section]

Leave a Reply

