Magical Monday: Titanic

This is a short blurb I wrote for a friend about the Titanic sinking. It was another one of those collaboration pieces, but I don’t quite remember what our rules for this one were. Anywho, enjoy! Spoiler alert: it’s not a happy piece and it’s super short. I’ve played around with the idea of continuing the story from the ghost’s perspective. What do you think? Should I?

Titanic:

The whole trip was like a symphony. Well, most of the trip. It was good until the end. Sorry I’m repeating myself a bit, it’s not often ghosts get to talk with the living.

It was beautiful. I had never seen a ship so grand. They said she was unsinkable. I believed them. I mean, have you seen her? Well, not her her. She’s underwater. So much for unsinkable, right?

You’ve seen pictures though, I’m sure. It was like walking into the heavens, angels singing and lots of gold. I mean, lots of gold. Gold and white and hard metals. The supposedly buoyant kind.

We were dancing when it happened. Most people were asleep I think. But my wife and I, we were dancing on the top deck.

It was cold. Insanely cold. We were shivering but she didn’t want to stop. She was beautiful. The stars were beautiful. The dark water was beautiful. It was like a sheet of black glass, only breaking for our ship.

We danced faster to keep ourselves warm. Up one side of the ship and down the other. A few people watched, but no one joined in. We felt alone, and it was perfect.

But then it wasn’t perfect. It ended. Too soon.

The whole trip was like a symphony. Well, most of the trip. It was good until the end. Sorry I’m repeating myself a bit, it’s not often ghosts get to talk with the living.

It was beautiful. I had never seen a ship so grand. They said she was unsinkable. I believed them. I mean, have you seen her? Well, not her her. She’s underwater. So much for unsinkable, right?

You’ve seen pictures though I’m sure. It was like walking into the heavens, angels singing and lots of gold. I mean, lots of gold. Gold and white and hard metals. The supposedly buoyant kind.

We were dancing when it happened. Most people were asleep I think. But my wife and I, we were dancing on the top deck.

It was cold. Insanely cold. We were shivering but she didn’t want to stop. She was beautiful. The stars were beautiful. The dark water was beautiful. It was like a sheet of black glass, only breaking for our ship.

We danced faster to keep ourselves warm. Up one side of the ship and down the other. A few people watched, but no one joined in. We felt alone, and it was perfect.

But then it wasn’t perfect. It ended. Too soon.

Leave a Reply

