Social media is wonderfully annoying.

I’m not very good at social media. I don’t post blogs in a timely manner, I don’t have a Facebook fan page, and I rarely check my Twitter. I’ve pushed these things off for so long because I find them to be tedious and obnoxious. When I get home from work, I want to eat and watch Whose Line Is It Anyway? and maybe, just maybe, write a bit. If I had something witty to say, I’d say it to my roommate’s cat, not my 25 followers on Twitter.

But I’m fighting a losing battle. Social media is wonderful for aspiring writers, even if it is wonderfully annoying. You can Tweet agents, real live agents who hold the keys to the publishing world in their twitchy fingers. Why are their fingers twitchy? I don’t know, ask them.

Granted the agent may not respond, but it seems more satisfying than just emailing a query and never hearing from them again, not knowing if they’re still alive or if their subway was derailed on their way to work that morning. At least if they’ve checked their Twitter you’ll know.

I can see the value of Twitter, and I’m going to try my best to Tweet something helpful at least once a day, you know, to boost my followers or whatever. But a fan page on Facebook…I just can’t bring myself to do it. It just seems so narcissistic to me.

I know people with fan pages who aren’t in the least bit into themselves, but for whatever reason I feel like mine would come off that way. I can see it would be beneficial if your career fell into line with writing, but mine doesn’t. So I think, for the sake of my mental well being, I’m going to hold off on that for now, and steamroller ahead into the Twittersphere.

Below are a few links to help you practically use Twitter to your advantage as a writer.

If you’re a complete newb, check this out: http://inkygirl.com/a-writers-guide-to-twitter/

If you’re somewhat versed in Twitter lingo, and now just need to apply what you’ve learned, check out these useful writer hashtags. Beginners, this is not yet for you: http://www.aerogrammestudio.com/2013/03/12/100-twitter-hashtags-every-writer-should-know/

And after you’ve followed all of your friends who have been using Twitter for ages, find these guys and follow them too. They are a must follow for serious writers: http://blog.bookbaby.com/2012/04/authors-writers-10-must-follow-people-on-twitter/

Hopefully this has helped inspire you to take Twitter seriously. Or, if not take Twitter seriously, at least take the potential it has to jump start your career seriously.

 

And while you’re at it, take a listen to this fabulous song:

Leave a Reply

