I want to be better.

I recently read an article about a young girl, not even a year older than me, who died. She was hiking a trail or doing some such activity and fell, a rock crushed her skull, and she was gone.

The article (http://www.outsideonline.com/outdoor-adventure/media/The-Brief-Wondrous-Life-of-Zina-Lahr.html) includes a video she was going to submit to some Jim Henson show they are in the process of developing…I think. Regardless, watch it.

She was 22. Twenty-two. And in 22 years she’s accomplished more than people who are twice that age. Unfortunately though, the world lost her.

I’m 22.

I don’t know if she would have become famous or anything, but I can see she was loved. She was quirky, she was fun, she was herself. She was an inventor.

Writer’s are inventors, if not with gadgets at least with words and story.

I’m not disappointed with myself for not publishing a book by now or for not being labeled “the next J.K. Rowling.” I think Zina had figured out something so many of us haven’t. Actually, it’s not so much she’s discovered some truth the rest of us have yet to find. I think we all start out like Zina, but at some point we forget who we are and become cookie-cutter people. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good gingerbread man like the next guy, but that doesn’t mean I want to be one. Zina retained her sense of self, while the rest of us lost it.

She remembered what makes her happy, and she did that. Inventing made her happy. Watch the video and look at her room, look at her projects, look at what she created. You can’t look her in the face and not see how happy she was. She was herself, and she was at home.

Writing makes me happy, but do I do it all the time? Absolutely not. I have responsibilities, I have this, and I have that. But all I really have are a load of excuses.

Watching Zina’s story made me want to be better at who I am. I am a writer. I can do that better. If that means making a few changes to my life then it will be worth it.

Remember what makes you passionate. Remember why. Don’t let your list of excuses stop you. Tackle them head on. The things you love are worth fighting for. And if there’s no fight to get them, are they really worth your time?

Also, this:

One thought on “I want to be better.

  1. Julie

    that was deep taySent from my Samsung Mobile

    This Stage of Life wrote:

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    Taylor Clemons posted: “I recently read an article about a young girl, not even a year older than me, who died. She was hiking a trail or doing some such activity and fell, a rock crushed her skull, and she was gone.

    The article (http://www.outsideonline.com/outdoor-adventure

Leave a Reply

