I’ve always wanted a pen name.

Trying to make a name for yourself is exhausting, whether it’s real or not. The intentions behind my blog, other than to entertain my faithful followers, is to attract an agent. Or at least to have something attractive for an agent.

They check your social media presence, you know. Followers on Twitter. Whether you have a blog and if it’s any good. If you have a professional page on Facebook.

It’s extremely intimidating to have to maintain all of those outlets, have a full-time job, and continue working on my novel. Yes, I sound like I’m having a pity party, but this is more me thinking out loud about how to practically go about it.

For this month, my blog takes priority over my novel. I made a promise that I intend to keep. Although that takes time away from writing my novel, it has actually fueled my desire to finish it.

I’m not saying that it’s impossible to do all of these things, it just takes time to figure out how to do all of these things well. It takes time that I’m hesitant to commit. Maybe that’s me being selfish, but I value my time very highly. If it comes between increasing my platform on Twitter and spending time with a friend, the friend will probably win. I know I need to put more time into it, but finding the balance between it all is difficult.

Not to mention other things in my life that have taken the back seat: running, reading, studying Polish, etc. Those are all things I really enjoy that I don’t have time for. By the end of this month I hope to develop a realistic plan that will keep pushing me toward publishing a novel while allowing myself time to enjoy things that don’t necessarily fall into the “productive” category. I often struggle with thinking that I always need to be productive. It’s like my “be still” post. I want to get there, and I’m still figuring it out.

On another note, I want to branch into some other genres of writing that I don’t post in my blog. But I want the quality to be worth reading. I want you to expect good writing from me. I intend to give it to you.

 

Get it Demi.

Leave a Reply

