It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Minus the fact that it feels like summer in Florida and we all break the bank trying to outdo each other in gifts, Christmas, and winter in general, is quite a magical season. I’ve always loved the cold and snow, and so naturally, Florida is the opposite of where I want to be. But lucky for my family I love them a lot and haven’t built up the courage to move…yet.

Spoiler alert: children under the age of believing in Santa read no further. He is real. End of story.

When I was young, I was a sneaky sneaky girl. I asked my mother whether God liked it when you lie. Of course she said no. Then I dropped the bomb. With round, innocent eyes and bouncing macaroni curls, I asked her from the booster seat in the car “Is Santa real?”

Boom. Trapped. Evil little girl strikes again!

But even without Santa, winter was still wonderful. Lighting a log on the fire, watching old Christmas movies with my parents…well, my dad and I would watch them. Mom would either start doing laundry and reading a book about halfway through.

Being in school it was easy to go home for the holidays and bum food out of my parent’s fridge. I- I mean spend time with my family. Now I get two days off for Christmas.

Some may look at that as a bummer, but since I’m trying to be a little more positive, I’m going to look at it as a challenge. I have two Christmas days with my family. During which I WILL accomplish all of my favorite Christmas activities, which include, but are not limited to:

-Marking the days of December on a calendar. Meaning I will be redoing what someone else has done, because it’s my tradition.
-Rehanging my special birth ornament on the tree. Again, because it’s mine.
-Watching I’ll Be Home For Christmas and The Santa Clause (just the first one, the others are terrible).
-Baking cookies for Santa and eating as much cookie dough as I can before my mother yells at me.
-Drinking hot chocolate with a fire in the fireplace. I don’t care how hot it is. It will happen.
-Be forced to clean as though (insert someone famous) was coming to dinner, even though it’s just family who doesn’t care how the house looks.
-Make everyone drive around looking at Christmas lights while blaring Trans Siberian Orchestra. The challenge of this is to fit as many people in one car as legally as possible. Right now, it will be my car, and the number will be eight.

And of course on Christmas Eve night:

-Listen to my parents drink wine in the kitchen, waiting for me to fall asleep so “Santa” can come.
-At the same time as the above, play some sort of video/computer game or read a book (probably Harry Potter) in my bed and pretend to be asleep when they come check. Granted I don’t think they are as careful anymore, but whatever.
-Wait anxiously to see if my dad, I mean Santa, leaves evidence of parking his sleigh outside (apparently he’s too good for our roof). Because even though I may know the secret, I still have a niece and nephews. Therefore, I shall live vicariously through them.

See, negatives into positives. Those are going to be the merriest two days of the season if it’s the last thing I do!

 

Everyone’s favorite TSO song, hands down. If it’s not, you need to reevaluate your criteria.

Leave a Reply

