Work people are real people too.

I’m going to be very up front. I’m extremely tired. Today was a fun, but long, day. And all I really want to do right now is sleep.

Today we had our company Christmas party, and I have to say, seeing my coworkers out of the work environment with their significant others and kids was an interesting experience. There’s something about a party when you’re supposed to be working, and something about this time of year, that just makes people get along better.

I do work well with my coworkers, but like in any job situation, I don’t work with everyone equally well.

And yet tonight I found myself sitting across the table with those I sometimes find myself frustrated with, and laughing about something goofy one of us was doing. It was a nice moment, and we don’t have those often enough.

Going back to the normal work grind tomorrow is going to be rough, I won’t lie. But now that these people I see from 8:30-5:30 every day have become more real to me, I don’t think it will require as much effort as before. When we pass in the hallway, my smile won’t feel as forced. Work won’t seem like me against the stack of papers on my desk. It will be me and my coworker-friends all trying to produce a working machine. My hope is that we will work together in unison, rather than all focusing on our respective jobs individually.

I’m kind of excited to see what happens. And hopefully my naivety isn’t showing too much. For a girl who is cynical most of the time, I’m feeling rather hopeful.

Cross your fingers.

 

My not-so-secret artist crush:

Leave a Reply

