I don’t know how to be still.

I’m a little pooped on heavy blog topics. Today is an extremely busy day, so I’m going to try to keep things rather light.

My mothers favorite line when anyone is doing anything too fast, is “be still.” I try to be efficient and multi-task, and the second she catches me: “be still.”

It drove me crazy growing up, because I didn’t want to be still. I wanted to finish what I was doing and move on to the next thing.  I still suffer from that mentality now. Last night I had to help bake cookies (homemade Oreos to be exact) for an event tonight. I couldn’t sit on the couch for longer than a few minutes without starting to fidget. I had to get the cookies done. They had to be done right then and there. I couldn’t wait any longer.

Most people would say that’s being proactive.

The people around me would say that’s being annoying.

So where is the line between being still and being lazy. Now that I think about it, this is kind of similar to my waiting and being frozen post.

I think being still is realizing that the world will still go on if you don’t get done whatever needs to get done right at that second. Sure there are deadlines that sometimes call for quick action. But you don’t need to run on fast forward your whole life. That sounds exhausting.

So when you feel like you’re overwhelmed with so many things to do and decisions to make, I suggest to be still. Sit down, take a breath, organize your thoughts, and try again.

Also, don’t shower other people with your opinions over every single thing. Too many kids giving their thoughts over where we should eat, how we should get there, what we should do. And the only thing that would silence us and allow my mother to think was to say “be still.”

Of course none of us ever were, but it’s the thought that counts.

Sometimes there’s only enough room in my head for me. I make the mistake of asking too many people for their opinion sometimes, and I only end up frustrated with the disjointed advice and usually going with what I had originally planned instead. Opinions are great, and it’s important to include people in your life, but not at the risk of going insane over make everyone else happy.

Just be still.

To satisfy your musical palette:

Leave a Reply

