I have a confession to make.

I cheated.

I’m a little ashamed of it, but it’s true. And if I’m going to ask all of you to be honest, then I need to be honest too.

Today I looked up blog topics.

I couldn’t think of anything good, and I’m sitting in a busy Starbucks watching people mill in and out and noticing that today’s fashion style is “tacky.”

So I googled blog ideas, and I have to say, I was pretty disappointed with the results. Everything seemed so boring and self-centered. Though I guess if you have a big enough ego to write a blog about your thoughts, then I shouldn’t be surprised. I ended up closing out of the article, because it said I couldn’t post rants. That’s pretty much what my blog is. One big rant.

So here’s what I have to say today, without stealing other bloggers ideas.

“Fake it ’til you make it.”

I’m probably going to get a lot of disagreement on this, but that’s okay. There’s plenty of room in the Internet domain for differing opinions. Plus I don’t have to approve your comment if I don’t want to. (insert wink face here)

I’m a big fan of the “fake it ’til you make it” mantra. Some of you may be saying, wait Taylor, you just said in the last post to be honest! How can I be honest and fake it at the same time?

Excellent question, my dear.

It is difficult, and requires you to be very self-reflective. But it all boils down to this: as long as you know you’re faking it, you can slide ’til you make it.

This little saying is often applied to the workplace. When I started my job, I had no idea what I was doing. Sure I had some experience, but that only gets you so far in a new job. You’re working for a new person, with new people, and in a whole new system. The similarities between your experiences and your new job are meaningless until you figure out what you are doing in the now. And until then, you better fake it ’til you make it.

I’m not saying to be cocky, and I’m also not saying to fly so low under the radar that you become invisible. There’s an in-between that’s just right. That’s what you have to find.

If you’ve ever seen Catch Me If You Can then you know what I’m talking about. For those of you who have never seen it. Good ol’ Leo forges checks and becomes a millionaire by adapting different lifestyles and convincing those around him of his legitimacy. Yes he lies, yes he’s breaking the law, and SPOILER ALERT, yes he does get caught.

Don’t go to the extreme of becoming the lie, but if you don’t feel like you are the job, pretend you are anyway. What do I mean?

If you don’t feel like a teacher, pretend to be one anyway.

If you don’t feel like a dancer, go for it regardless. People aren’t really as observant as they say they are.

That means you have to adopt a character. What would a teacher do or say? How would they act? Figure it out and go from there.

Don’t feel like a good student? What would a good student do? Do that.

Eventually this character that you mimic will become so second nature to you, it won’t even be a process.

I work in radio. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Telecommunications. I knew the talk, the terms, the process. But that doesn’t get me anywhere in a room full of people who have been doing radio for years. I had learned radio, but I hadn’t done it yet. Are my italics helping? Do you follow me?

So I became them, while still being myself. Never sacrifice yourself to fake it. Yes, you’ll have to adjust a few things to your actions and lifestyle, but that’s just life and if you think you’re too good to change for life, then you’re doomed. The stuff you shouldn’t have to change is the inside stuff. Outside is another story, and you’ll have to figure out that line for yourself.

Do you get what I mean yet? I feel like I’m talking you in circles, but if you try applying it, it may become more clear. It’s one of those hazy topics that you can talk about for hours, and at the end of the conversation you’re not really sure if you got anywhere.

I’ll pick this up again another day. Until then, post what you think and help me come up with other blog topics.

 

Today the music of choice is my favorite Russian.

 

2 thoughts on “I have a confession to make.

  1. Melissa

    I like your POV on “not feeling like something,” but doing it anyway. Adding to this conversation, I believe that the core of your post is, ultimately, to be courageous. It’s not necessarily “faking” but pushing through those self-doubts that can lead to giving up. It’s to experience something that you’re absolutely terrified/just don’t want to do. The essence of this overused but true cliche is overcoming your pride of not knowing everything to simply learn from a job, school, relationships, rejection, acceptance, etc. “Making it” doesn’t mean you don’t have to act fake anymore. It means that you no longer pay attention to those voices that hold you back. Like you said, Taylor, never sacrifice who you are and passionately keep searching for who you want to be :)

Leave a Reply

