I finally figured out my dream job.

Obviously I want to be a writer. Or at least I think it’s obvious. Maybe you just think I’m a ex-student with too much time on her hands.

And actually you might be right.

Regardless, I’ve finally discovered what it is I really really want in my future career.

Not just the ability to set my own hours, to work where I please, and do what I love. Those things are all well and good. But when it all boils down to it, down to the nitty gritty core desire of what I want, it’s all quite simple.

I want to be able to dye my hair any color I wish.

I want to do a job with blue hair, or pink hair, or red and green hair. Or all of the above. Whatever, however, wherever, whenever. I just want to dye my hair, and I don’t want to have anyone tell me it’s not okay.

Where did this come from? Watch my music video for the day and you’ll understand.

It’s like the ultimate freedom. To me anyway.

I know that’s not exactly a desire for everyone. And some people are going to read this and think I’m a kook. But think about it. Think about the message behind blue hair. You don’t need approval. You like your blue hair and who cares if they don’t. They don’t impact your job.

Really that boils down to very few careers, and luckily writing is one of them. Or at least I think it is, anyway. I mean how many writers would you actually recognize walking down the street?

The one with blue hair, that’s who.

But really I don’t want to do it for the recognition, or to make some crazy statement. I just want to do it because I think it’s cool, and partially because in my job right now I can’t. And so naturally the rebellious side of me is drawn to doing something rash. But if that’s as rash as things get, I think my parents did an all right job.

Okay, my rant is over. But one day I will dye my hair a crazy color or colors. And it’s going to be awesome. And if you don’t like it, I’m not going to care. Know why?

You’re not my boss.

 

She is everything I could have been and yet am not, because I quit the violin.

Leave a Reply

