Hey guess what!? I’m sick again…

Surprise surprise right?

I’m currently drinking tea again, but this time it’s filled with lemon, honey, cinnamon, and oh yea, vinegar. But if it means getting better without having to take medicine then I’ll do it.

In the meantime I have just about nothing good to say today. It was extremely exhausting. My head feels like it’s going to explode. But the masses are eagerly waiting to see what I post. Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself to make sure I write this.

I wanted to talk about inspiration, or maybe the lack of it. I don’t know I’m making this up as I go. My eyeballs are closing and it’s only 8 o’clock.

I don’t know about you, but I seem to become inspired at the most inconvenient times. It’s usually when I’m around a lot of people and not around a computer. I jot down my idea on whatever is close at hand (usually my phone). But by the time I look back at it, it seems to have lost its sparkle. I’m currently trying to figure out how to make it keep that sparkle hours or days later, so I’m open to suggestions if you have any.

But I also think it’s a crime to only write (or do whatever it is that you do) when you only have inspiration. That’s like telling your talent you’re too good for it. And I firmly believe that if you don’t use it, you lose it.

To tell my imagination that I will only use it when I feel so inclined is like telling my mother I love her more when she buys me gifts. You’d never say that to your mother (I hope), and you shouldn’t say it to yourself either. Give yourself and your abilities more respect than that.

I almost wish I was recording myself writing this, because every time I sip this tea my face puckers like a fish. It would at least be entertaining to watch while you read me jumping around on my thought clouds. And you may have guessed, and correctly so, that those clouds are quickly dissipating.

I really just want to put the idea out there that your talents are precious, and therefore you should treat them as such. You have them for a reason, so use them for a reason. Find what makes you tick and then go for it! I love writing. I love watching my niece find enjoyment in reading. I love when parents ask me for book suggestions for their kids because they trust my judgment. That is my passion. And they are my muses. I’m writing for them. My talent is for them.

Who or what is your talent for?

 

Currently jamming to:

Leave a Reply

