Why did I decide to do this again?

Oh right, because I’m crazy.

I’ve decided to write a post a day this month, and I won’t lie to you, not every post is going to be great. I’m doing this less for the quality of writing and more for the repetition of it. Don’t worry I’m not going to write something terrible just to get a post in, but you get the idea. And if you don’t, just pretend you do. I’ve already stated before about how I’m terrible at writing consistently everyday, so you all have become my accountability partners, willing or not. 

If I tell myself I will do something, it probably won’t happen. If I tell my best friend something, it may or may not happen. But if I tell a bunch of strangers that I’m going to write them a little message everyday, well, I’m hoping it will work. And if I miss a day, feel free to antagonize me (family members are excluded from that offer, you already do that).

I’m also doing this because I’m hoping that seeing people read (and maybe comment on) my posts will give me that extra push to finish writing my darn book. And what better month to be inspired than my favorite month of the year?

I’ve gotten lazy. And I’m mad that I’ve gotten lazy. But being angry at myself just doesn’t seem like enough anymore to get me to do anything.

And you know what else I’ve gotten? Jealous. I have writer friends, and if you’re a writer I suggest you have some too, and I’ve actually gotten jealous over the fact that they write everyday and I don’t. What good does that do me to actually be jealous of someone for succeeding when the only reason I’m not is from sheer laziness?

I’m not even going to answer that. It’s embarrassing.

Like I said, this post a day project should help with my ridiculous problems. Maybe I’ll even post how many words in my book I’ve written each week. No excuses. This is going to work.

It will.

2 thoughts on “Why did I decide to do this again?

  1. Melissa

    Taylor, I admire your daily writing challenge and I’m looking forward to reading your posts! I want to remind you though that you shouldn’t feel discouraged from “not writing” because there is still so much fruit in simply living and thinking. Even just writing down a few sentences, a phrase, or even a word from your daily reflections is writing! From one “artist” to another, laziness and frustration are apart of the process. If it’s not, then you’re doing it wrong. I hope this message encourages you and I want to let you know that you’ve motivated me to join the creative process with you as well :)

    1. Thanks Melissa! It’s so true, even just scribbling down a thought is a step forward. I just get so antsy when I think of how far I could be, and how I’m not there yet. But I take a lot of inspiration from you as well. You should send me some of your artwork and we can do another exercise where I write a story to your piece, and we can post it on the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

